Big Horned Sheep Gallery

A Big Horned Sheep stops to 'pose' for a photograph along the mountainside above the 15th hole at PGA West, Palmer Private course Wednesday afternoon. (iso 200, 1/1600 sec @ f4.0 w/ a 300mm lens)

Yesterday, I came down to Palm Desert to cover the Bob Hope Classic golf tournament.  I have been photographing the event for 11 years and it is one of my favorite annual things to shoot.  Last year, I was lucky to get a shot of a hawk atop a rock at one of the four courses the tournament is held at.  Today, the group I was assigned to shoot played at PGA West, the Palmer Private course.  It is a beautiful course with several of the holes on the back nine run alongside the mountain range.  I’ve heard stories of the Big Horned Sheep which live in the mountain range and how they occasionally venture down and graze on the grass.  As the group I was following began play on the first of the holes on the mountain range, I spotted several sheep.  Magnificent creatures, their skin copper like veins of rock in the mountainside,  which make them often difficult to spot.  This one I zoomed in on, stopped to pose for the group of golf enthusiasts admiring it.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did….the big horned sheep gallery.

~ by visualviscosity on January 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
